Fallout Girl's Blog



Favorite Moments of 2012

Radiation Level: Falling off a fiscal cliff

Listening To: Girl I used to Know by JMSN

This last year has felt like a boxing match in which I managed to avoid getting knocked out but dang, I didn’t win. That said, there were sparse moments of sincere joy for which I’m truly grateful.  Here are a few:

Making bubbles with my students.

Bubble

The thrill of making these giant bubbles lifted the spirits of my students. I’ve never seen so many smiles on such tough kids.

Seeing my movie quotes on TV and around LA.

photo copy

I saw over 130 movies this year, and it was just super rewarding to see that someone valued my opinion enough to share it with the world.

Winning the Carmen Miranda Barbie Doll* at Richard Simmons.

banana bonanza barbie

I played Carmen Miranda in my high school musical review, and I have a photo of Carmen Miranda hanging in  my kitchen so it was so fun to win this. Any woman who can sing and dance with fruit on her head is my heroine.

*Technically, the doll is called the Bob Mackie®Brazilian Banana BonanzaBarbie® Doll, but is clearly a nod to the fabulous Ms. Miranda.

Django Unchained

django-unchained-poster-spaghetti-western

Okay, so it’s not as good as Inglourious Basterds, but it’s my kind of movie.

Jack White’s Blunderbuss CD/Concert

img-jack-white-01_232936106581.jpg_pyramid1

Sixteen Saltines and Freedom at 21 have been my soundtrack for some time.  Thank you, Jack for making me feel like a teenager again. (Dreamy sigh…)

My best friends coming together to help me make my short film. You know who you are and I thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Getting to review movies.

photo copy 3

Thanks SO MUCH to RioGirl for believing in me and getting me the job. And thanks to SundayGirl for letting me borrow her adorable son so I don’t look like the loser cat-lady at the Saturday morning kids’ movie screenings.

Support, love and awesome notes from my new writers group. Way to go, Culver City Clutch!

My YA Novel will be here in 2013.

Visiting KodakGirl in Prescott and watching my play Vampire Mouth come to life.

photo copy 4

So amazing to see talented, creative people working together to create something out of nothing.

What are your favorite moments of 2012?

Comments

  1. * KodakGirl says:

    Yay! I made your list :-) So glad! And Prom Night went wonderfully as well, so you should feel fancy about that too!

    | Reply Posted 1 year, 3 months ago
  2. Тhis paragraρh provides clear idea Ԁesigned for the new psople of blogging, that in fact how to do bloggiոg and site-building.

    | Reply Posted 1 month, 3 weeks ago


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 272 other followers

