Fallout Girl's Blog



Jobs, radiation and who will take the risk. I will!

We know the radiation cloud that drifted to Los Angeles after the nuclear attack on Peterson AFB in Colorado has been labeled as “potentially dangerous” to “deadly toxic”. We know that independent health researchers say the best strategy is to move north, out of the way of the cloud, which may linger for months to years. But for some reason, many of us stay. Our homes aren’t worth what we paid, our jobs continue to diminish and our government is playing a game of ‘pin the tail on some random Muslim country’. Again. But somehow I, and many other Los Angelinos, endure. Scientists admit that radiation levels are lower than expected. That said, there seems to be more hair left in my brush than before the bomb, but maybe I’m imagining it. I swear I used to hear birds out my window every day but maybe I have selective memory. I’m clinging to the hope that life, business and recreation will all come back. And I’m not alone.

My point is that almost anything is survivable. It’s that little thing in nature called evolution. Some people call it “will to live”, but it’s not only in our minds, it’s in our cells. Homo sapiens are great at adapting and we will continue to do so. What doesn’t kill us, makes us stronger – literally – as a species, as a planet.

In no way am I trying to justify any preventable, human-made tragedy like a nuclear war. I’m simply trying to find a new perspective from which to view it. Charles Darwin wrote in his On the Origin of the Species:

From the war of nature, from famine and death, the most exalted object which we are capable of conceiving, namely the production of higher animals, directly follows. There is a grandeur in this view of life, with its several powers, having been originally breathed into a few forms. Or one. And that, whilst this planet has gone cycling on according to the fixed law of gravity…From so simple a beginning, endless forms most beautiful and most wonderful have been, and are being evolved.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * T says:

    I’m looking forward to the day when we start developing mutant powers… I mean, if I’m going to have to lose my hair, I might as well be able to ignite inanimate objects with just my stare, or move things with my mind.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

