Fallout Girl's Blog



LostBoy

Radiation Level:  Severe

Listening To:  Psyche Flash Treatment by Massive Attack


.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I woke up this morning thinking I needed to post some lighter faire.  My posts yesterday were on the serious side and hey, FalloutGirl is all about F*U*N.

But then I heard that Corey Haim fatally overdosed last night.  My heart is heavy.  My chest tight.  My eyes sting.  (long SIGH…)

I was devoted to the show The Two Coreys.  I looked forward every week to watching Corey Feldman and his giant-boobed wife Susie fighting with the other Corey like brothers and sister. I watched transfixed as the two Coreys went to therapy together and struggled with sobriety.  I rooted for them to get the Lost Boys sequel made and for Haim to remember his lines.  It was reality TV trash entertainment with a high def close up on its gnarliest train wreck.

But then something happened.  Both Corey’s revealed they were victims of molestation when they were kids.  By the same pedophile.  One of the Corey’s remained “friends” with this pedophile for years after, which hurt the other Corey deeply.  And the reality show became a whole other deal.

The Coreys became complex.  Their relationship nearly worthy of a Greek tragedy.  And I became invested in their healing.  At one point, a friend of mine’s brother who is a sober coach, interviewed to work with Corey Haim on the show.  I told him I really hoped he could help him.  I meant it.  My friend’s brother either didn’t get the job or the job went away.  The Two Corey’s didn’t come back to TV.  The giant boobs divorced Feldman.  And Haim has now passed.  Suicide?  I don’t know.  Sad and preventable?  Definitely.

On NPR yesterday, they did a story about Portugal’s decriminalization of drugs like heroine.  If someone is caught using or selling, they go to rehab not jail.  Doesn’t this make more sense?  Why does the US retain its 19th century stance on the “Drug War”?  Is it that prisons are big business?  If Haim had gone to rehab one more time, would he still be here?  Probably not.  But I do know there are new ideas and progressive remedies to old problems that should be explored. Depression is another crises still left to tackle as well.  But people – particularly Americans – are resistant to change.  I get it.

So until we make a collective shift and boldly move forward into the 21st century, adjusting to life in the third millennium…

Goodbye, Corey Haim.  See you in Lost Boys II.

Leave a Reply

