Fallout Girl's Blog



I Like It!

Radiation Level:  Extremely high levels of sulfur and volcanic ash.

Listening To:  Earth Intruders by Björk

Can material objects make one happy?  Yes.  Here are a few things that make FalloutGirl purr like a kitten…

Anthropologie.  I could do a whole post about this store alone.  First, I like the name.  It’s not just my favorite area of science, it’s the French spelling.   Some days I feel this store was created just for me.  Second, they name their pieces of clothing.  As if a sweater or skirt has a fabulous life of its own.  And if I bought it, I’d live a fabulous life too.  I eat it up like candy.

I'm Rhomboid Rush and I like geometry and warm weather!

It’s not just any dress, it’s the Rhomboid Rush dress.  Or the Mango Chutney Corset.  Or the Slow Melt Tank.

Third, I love the romance in their clothing.  So much of it feels like the 19th century or the 1940’s.

Fourth, I love the details and whimsy.  Take this Simian Tableau skirt.  Who doesn’t love a Simian Tableau on their rear end?

Monkey-see, Monkey-dress!

.

.

.

Or the Galloping Filly skirt.  (this one racks up the compliments.  What is it about girls and horses?)

Every cowgirl needs Anthropologie.

Why would I want to live with you at Anthropologie?!?

Recently, I saw Helena Bonham Carter at the store in Santa Monica.  I wanted to kiss her, she was so beautiful.  My fantasy:  to live at Anthropologie with Helena, sharing clothes and sharing secrets.  Is that so wrong?

I don't need to know how to act! I'm hunky!

.

.

.

.

.

The Tudors. I was skeptical the first season – it seemed little more than eye candy, but by the second season, the young, beautiful actors grew into their roles and it all came together.  No show has had such a lush, sensual aesthetic since Twin Peaks.  This show has hunky actors, amazing leather and velvet costumes, stirring music by Trevor Morris and is a story of love, sex, marriage, betrayal, divorce, sex, beheadings, imprisonment, the Catholic Church, the creation of the Anglican church, torture, sex, witchery, war, hubris, shame and redemption.  And sex.  How’s that for a teevee show?

Don't hate me because I ripped your heart out of your chest and ate it raw.

Parvati.  She’s gorgeous.  She’s wicked smart.  She’s rich.  Named for the Hindu goddess of power, “Parvati” translates to “She of the mountains, daughter of the Himalayas”.  And she is a force of nature to be reckoned with.

Yeah, you should be scared!

She’s everything men fear in women: she’s seductive, has powerful and mysterious biology, an ability to endure enormous amounts of pain, and can commune with other women without speaking.  Just wait Russell, you’re going down and it’s your fault for underestimating the Goddess of the Himalayas!

I'm rich, ha!

Okay, I know this is blueberry, but I couldn't find a photo of the vanilla.

Dannon’s nonfat vanilla Greek yogurt.  I don’t know what the heck kind of chemicals they use to puff this stuff up, but it’s like eating marshmallow cream mixed into vanilla frosting.  It will probably kill me.  But what a way to die.

I heart malic acid.

.

.

.

.


The XX and Florence and the Machine. Two great bands.  Both playing Coachella this very weekend.  Sadly, FalloutGirl refuses to go out to the dry, salty desert to get muddy, dehydrated, squished or get her eardrums blown out.  Hmm.  Maybe this time?  They’re BOTH playing…

NO.

No caption needed

Thereminists.  Yes, that refers to a person who plays a Theremin, how clever are you!  That warbled, ghostly radiowave music that you hear in scary movies.  The inorganic yet ethereal sound is otherworldly, a mix of technology and art, it is the true music of the spheres.  The whole idea that notes are played by moving your hand through the air is wild.  It’s the invisible instrument.  Fab-u-loo-oo-oo-oo-oo-ous!

Boxes of red wine. Call me cheap.  Call me trailer park.  Call me a drunk.  Don’t care.  I love them.  And so does the environment.

Iceland ruling the world. Or at least the toxic, sulfuric gas clouds that are floating all over Europe, closing all the airports and stranding thousands of people.  I mean, how many volcanoes does Europe have?  (hmm, this may be the topic of an upcoming post…) Iceland, you’re more than just Björk now!

Everybody wants to rule the world. Even Iceland.

What are some of your favorite things?  Share ‘em and I’ll post ‘em here.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * T says:

    I share your love of Anthropolie. LIke, seriously, big time, LOVE.

    I also love money. (cuz I ain’t got enough of it right now)

    And the word “Douche-bag” when discussing a shitty guy.

    Then there’s my love affair with Orange Juice… pretty serious now, it’s been going on ever since I was a tot. Men may come and go, but Tropicana’s got my back!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 1 month ago
  2. * nartienry says:

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

    | Reply Posted 7 years ago


Leave a Reply

