Fallout Girl's Blog



I’m Not Crazy, I Swear! Just Check Out My Facebook Page!

Radiation Level: Frenetic

Listening To:  Jesus Christ Pose by Sound Garden

I loved KodakGirl’s blog post today !  It’s worth puttin’ yer glasses on and taking a gander.  Click on link below to read it:

awds and ends

My favorite part is where this woman (who’s written an email looking for a screenwriter) claims she’s a very normal, sane person (who is just happening to contact a COMPLETE STRANGER to write a script about her personal, life-changing, amazing, break-the-box-office-story without so much as ever having read a sample of her writing).  To offer proof of her sanity, she urges KodakGirl go to her Facebook Page.  I guess I didn’t see it coming, but now Facebook – the biggest time-wasting activity other than blogging – sets the bar for stability and non-lunacy?

Let’s compare the old bastions of sanity.  Owning a home, gainful employment, member of the PTA, member of a church or synagogue were once signs that a person is part of and contributes to their community and accepted by said community.  Well, Facebook does provide a venue to participate in a community – people make “friends” and must comply to the social norms of the site i.e.: refrain from being obscene or threatening, but does a cyber-community mean the same thing as a real one?  I know there are rules and if you break them, people can de-friend you, but so much is controlled by the poster, as opposed to the community as a whole.  I know I only put photos on Facebook that look *FUN* and where I think I look the most put-together.  I do ask people to take photos down when I think I look ugly, etc. because I’m terribly vain.    And what does it mean if a person doesn’t have a Facebook page?  That they are anti-social or merely private?  That they are very busy with more important things or simply computer illiterate?

When Bush was in office, there was a lot of debate over wiretapping and American’s right to privacy under the constitution.  But the younger generation of today and tomorrow  are re-defining privacy.  It is the new norm to “put everything out there” despite or in light of knowing it just takes a Google search to find it.  I’d be curious to know if a 19-year-old of today thinks wire tapping is egregious when one takes into consideration that a person’s cyber footprint is all over the web, obtainable with just a few key strokes.  With this cultural shift, I have to believe that this generation’s new definition of privacy is creating a new definition of sanity – for better or worse.     Especially with all the designer drugs, anti-depressants, and the de rigor-ness of college kids taking Adderal as a study aid, how can it not be changed?

Because I’m in the Extractor’s Club, I should be safe in all circumstances.  Wanna join?  Click the link below…

Staying out of the Madhouse

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * JetGirl says:

    I’m in.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 11 months ago
  2. Awesome, JetGirl! Get your 6 certificates to me ASAP!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 11 months ago
    • * JetGirl says:

      driver’s license, passport and anthropologie card
      college degrees and determination of moral character (California Bar)
      still married while parenting two vilde chayas
      Anne Sexton admirer
      WIC. Code § 5150
      Mad Pride enthusiast

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 11 months ago
      • Love the Anthro card as one of your certificates!!! You’re in! Now, if I don’t hear from you in the next 12 months, I’ll assume you’ve been shut up as mad and the crew and I will come extract you.

        Posted 6 years, 11 months ago
  3. * JetGirl says:

    Thank you. I will do the same for you and the crew!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

