Fallout Girl's Blog



Happy Mother’s Day Betty White!

Radiation Level:  5,000 gallons a day

Listening To:  4 Minutes by Madonna and Justin Timberlake

Hope you saw Betty White host SNL last night.  If you missed it, scroll youtube, it was fabulous (my vid is just her monologue).


As I was watching her give her monologue last night, I felt enormously inspired.  So much so, I had tears in my eyes.  She was humble and energetic, articulate and earnest and she just looked like she WAS HAVING FUN.  This made me happy up, down and sideways.  She is an old pro, of course, but I was stunned when she revealed at the end of the show that she was scared.  Stage fright at 88 years old!  This means she was extremely invested in doing a good job and making people laugh.  I think last night was a triumph for women and seniors everywhere.


As a writer in Hollywood, I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard:

There are no good roles for women

Studios don’t make movies with female protagonists

People don’t go see films with female protagonists

Only old people want to watch old people

Women aren’t funny

I think Betty White adroitly dispelled each of those myths last night, but what’s more important, she (and the great writers) made us LAUGH while she did it.  Cheers to you, Dame Betty.


Leave a Reply

