Fallout Girl's Blog



Things I’ve Learned on my Birthday

Radiation Level:  750 ml

Listening To:  Alive and Kicking by Simple Minds

Yes, it’s the anniversary of that day 20-something years ago my mother pushed me out.   Actually, I was a forceps baby and still have the dents to prove it.  The doc yanked me like a lobster out of a pot.  And I’ve been going nonstop ever since.

Today I learned that I have really great, amazing friends.  This is the unexpected gift of my adulthood.  When I was young and *boy crazy*, so much focus was on the boyfriend (looking for one, getting one, getting rid of one).  Now that I’m older, I really bask in my friendships with my girls.  I wouldn’t be who I am without them.

Today I learned that going bathing suit shopping on your birthday is a BAD IDEA unless you’ve just had plastic surgery or not eaten in two weeks.

I’ve learned that New Orleans is AWESOME at night but pretty stinky during the day.

I’ve learned that beignets are even better than I remembered.

That I know my mother better than I would like to.

In a phone message from my father, he said he was pretty wild when he was my age.  Thanks for that image, Dad.

That cute dresses make me happy.

That life moves at its own pace, whether you push, pull, yell, scream, dig in your heels or run like Usain Bolt.  It’s out of my hands.

That getting a new iPhone is pretty simple and I’m pleased that I do adult things like back up my info.  “Just in case” seems to happen more than you want it to.

Devil's Heaven

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * T says:

    HAPPY friggin’ BIRTHDAY, you mistress of mystery! We are celebrating when I come to town… in TWO weeks. Get ready 🙂

    xoxoxoxo

    | Reply Posted 7 years ago


Leave a Reply

