Fallout Girl's Blog



Bed

Radiation Level:  Host Cell Invasion by Foreign Virus

Listening To:  The Mucus in my Sinuses


Yes, I have the FLU.  It’s been hell.  I’ve been in bed for 5 days.  The first three days, I felt like I was dying.  There was no improvement.  My head was killing me.  My cough was deep and moist.  And while I’m now on the 5th day and feeling an improvement, I’m still, single-nosedly, keeping the Kleenex Co. in business.   SERIOUSLY?

Okay, so I didn’t get the flu shot.  Here’s why:  for a period of several years, I got the shot each November.  Then each March I got the flu.  So I began to see the $45 prick as a lesson in futility.  Well, let me tell you, I’m going to get a flu shot every year from now on til the day I die.  Will it help?  Who knows.  But on the small chance that it can spare me the torture I’ve been through over the past few days, it’s worth it.

I can’t remember a time when I slept so much.  And I’m a gal who likes her beauty sleep.  But my body is weak and sore.  I have pain from sleeping.  I’ve taken Tylenol every 6 hours (it definitely helps, but really only for a sweet spot of about an hour and a half.   Then, it’s back to underwater.)   I’ve watched more People’s Court, Judge Judy, When Animals Attack, When Vacations Attack and I Shouldn’t Be Alive that I’m wondering if I shouldn’t be alive.  But I am.  How do I know?

Viruses can only replicate in living cells.  And this one replicated, let me tell you.  I’m praying that I didn’t pass it to anyone to further replicate, but friends and colleagues – if I cancelled on you this week, it was a true act of mercy, I promise you.

Things that make me feel human:  hot showers, clean clothes, Pellegrino and the highest on the evolutionary scale – the hot water bottle.

Growing up in Los Angeles, things stayed pretty warm, even in the winter.  As a teenager, I remember having a strong attachment to an electric blanket until I found out it emitted radiation (Egads!  The start of it all?)  and I gave it up of course.  It wasn’t until I was in my 30’s on a trip to New Zealand that I discovered Le Haute Water Bottelle.  I was trekking the Milford Trek on the south Island and at the top of the mountain, it was quite cold.  Everyone went and filled up a red rubber bottle like it was the norm.  So I did too.  Oh!  What joy to have a personal heat source at my toes!  Such a comfort, I’ve adapted the hot water bottle to my life in LA as well.  This has been my only joy over the past few days.

Well I did enjoy when that shark the fisherman was trying to reel in PULLED him overboard and into the ocean, next to the tuna head they were using as chum…

So that’s the update.  Nothing witty.  Nothing shocking.  Except maybe that I still haven’t unpacked from my trip to NY.  Otherwise, I’ll catch up with you when my brain is functioning more fully.  Until then, study these highly magnified digital photos of other viruses in our lives.

Leave a Reply

