Fallout Girl's Blog



The Freaky Future

I’m a gal who loves science.  I love that it requires imagination.  That it requires risk.  That occasionally a scientist (think Darwin, Einstein, Hawking) must abandon all they know is true and take a leap of faith.  But I saw something on TV that disturbed me.  It shouldn’t.  But it did.

I’m a NOVA junkee.  I Tivo it every week and consider it one of the best shows on TV.  But I have to admit that I was a little uninspired as I watched a recent episode called Making Things:  Stronger

http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/tech/making-stuff-stronger.html

I don’t know much about engineering and the details of steel and bridges evade me.  But then, near the end of the episode, something caught my eye. GOATS genetically modified with SPIDER DNA.  ???  Yes, you read that correctly.

Some scientists spliced goat DNA with spider DNA and made goats that – get ready for this –  produce spider silk webbing (one of the strongest substances in the world) IN THEIR MILK.  What good is this you say?  Just wait.

After milking the goats, the scientists figured out a way to separate the spider silk from the milk.  They can then take the spider silk and make it into strong stuff.  Like ropes or poles or whatever!

Why do they do this?  Because taking spider silk from spiders is, well, too timely.  They don’t produce enough to make it worth while.  But if you can take it out of the goat milk, you have enough to actually MAKE SOMETHING.

So, what’s next?  I can’t wait to find out!

ANOTHER TV SHOW I LOVE, is the new show An Idiot Abroad.  This is where Rickey Gervais and Stephen Merchant send oddball Karl Pilkington to see the seven wonders of the world.  This is a blue-color British guy whose most exotic trip prior to this was visiting Wales, where he felt frustrated because I couldn’t understand the language.

The show is on Science Channel and it’s laugh-out-loud funny. I can’t wait for next week…

Oh, yeah, the Oscar noms were announced today.  The director currently attached to one of my original screenplays was nominated for one today. Will this help or hurt my chances of getting my period drama shot this year?  Only time will tell… I’ll keep ya posted on my own freaky future.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * KodakGirl says:

    Okay, the Spider-Goats FREAKED ME OUT. I’m. Freaked. Out. Thanks a lot Science… you psycho! What would Charlotte say? “Stop stealing my thunder, you goat bastards!” – In her web. On the farm. Yeah. Title it: Charlotte’s Revenge.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

