Fallout Girl's Blog



Underground

Radiation Level:  1000 Times Normal at Fukishima

Listening To:  Two Tribes by Frankie Goes to Hollywood


Earthquake.  Tsunami.  Nuclear Meltdown.

MY WORST NIGHTMARE IS COMING TRUE.  I am currently in my fallout shelter, the internet is spotty down here.  I cannot disclose my exact location for fear of mass public panic (I have a limited supply of oxygen) but I’m in the Mojave desert.

I’m taking my iodine pills.  I should be safe.  But still, I can’t sleep.

I remember thinking how bad things were in the BP oil spill.  I went to New Orleans two weeks after it happened and could smell the oil burn-off.  It was baffling to me how people/companies could take such huge risks with the environment knowing that if something went WRONG, they wouldn’t know how to fix it.  Same thing with the Chilean miners.  They were successful in saving them, but it was touch and go for a very long time.    And now the nuclear plant in Japan.  No one thought about the possibility of a Tsunami? Really?

You’d think JAPAN of all countries, would have prepared for this considering Hiroshima and Nagasaki.  But that’s the way of Homo sapiens, isn’t it?  Nature seems to have a way of testing our hubris, as Icarus found out.

There is a certain peace down here, alone.  I have 140 cans of Spagettios.  And 17 boxes of red wine.  I should be fine for a while.

So I just heard on my transistor that Japan is stopping water drops (yeah, no kidding) and a RADIATION PLUME is supposed to hit California TOMORROW, 3/18/11.  I wish I could invite all of you for Spagettios and wine, but I just don’t have the room…

Shelter Envy...

I’m keeping my fingers crossed for Japan and hope they make it through.

This gal seems to be dealing with it just fine.  I’ll update you tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

