Fallout Girl's Blog



Jack’s Beans

Radiation Level:  Growing

Listening To:  Edge of the Moon by Tori Amos

I started teaching a science class to young ones yesterday.  Garden science.  Okay, not my favorite of scientific topics, but of course there’s that whole “kids today don’t understand where food comes from” aspect, so it’s important.  The lesson was to dissect a lima bean then create a “garden” in a paper cup to grow the lima bean.  With the younger kids, I first read them the story of Jack and the Beanstalk.  Most of the kids know it, but it’s inherently dramatic, so it goes over well.  After the story (which garnered applause from one of my classes) we got into the science.  Soil, osmosis, sunlight, plant embryo, etc.  At the end, each kid had their very own ‘cup-a-lima-bean garden’.

Then, once all the classes were finished, one first grade boy came back to me with his mother and 4-year-old brother in tow.

The small boy’s English was a bit stilted, clearly his second language, but he was eager and curious.  He asked me if his little brother could also have a lima-bean-garden.  I said, “Sure”.  As I was putting soil into the cup, he leaned over and whispered to me, “But don’t add the bean”.    I looked at him confused.  He explained, “My brother is very little.  If he climbs up the beanstalk, he may fall off.”

***

So sweet and funny.  I added four beans to his:)

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Gudrun says:

    I enjoy, result in I found exactly what I was looking for.
    You’ve ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a
    nice day. Bye

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 2 months ago
  2. Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thank
    you, However I am having problems with your
    RSS. I don’t understand why I am unable to subscribe to it.
    Is there anybody else having similar RSS issues? Anyone that knows the solution will you kindly respond?
    Thanx!!

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 2 months ago
  3. Link exchange is nothing else but it is only placing the
    other person’s weblog link on your page at appropriate place
    and other person will also do similar in favor of you.

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

