Fallout Girl's Blog



Demons In My Pocket

Radiation Level: Blunderbus

Listening to: Hypocritical Kiss by Jack White

Here’s this week’s movie reviews:

Brave                Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter

Seeking a Friend for the End of the World       To Rome with Love

I had high hopes for Abraham Lincoln:  Vampire Hunter.  But throw vampires or zombies into my historical fiction and FalloutGirl gets freaked out.  I thoroughly bought the premise, but when the film tried to get me to believe that Southern slave owners were mostly vampires and wanted to keep slavery legal because slaves made for easy food, I couldn’t settle into the story.

Okay, I see that slave owners were, metaphorically and literally, vampires, stealing life from these innocent people.  But it almost made light of slavery in a way that I believe was not intended by the filmmakers.  In the film, there was a violent and gruesome battle at Gettysburg involving bloodsuckers and silver plated axes and bullets.  But wasn’t the actual battle at Gettysburg just as gruesome by the mere fact that it was real?

Okay, I’m sure I’m over thinking this (and Richard Simmons told me today that “when I over think, life will stink”), but what is more evil – an undead creature that must suck human blood in order to survive OR men and women who choose to use slave labor simply because they can afford it?   I’m sure you’d agree it would be the latter.

I get that at one point in time, slavery was considered socially acceptable.  But by making the slave owners into literal MONSTERS, they are taking the human element out of America’s sinister history.  It’s as if the film is suggesting that only monsters could have done something so villainous, but that’s not true. Humans enslaved other humans.  They still do.  I just think that movies need to be careful about taking the monster out of the person.  Like it or not, that demon is there, creepy, evil and twisted inside each and every one of us.  To forget that would be tragic.

That said, the budget of AB: VH was around $70M.  Not bad — so why did it look like it was shot at Knott’s Berry Farm?  The sets had painted backdrops that didn’t even come close to looking real.  Maybe they thought that with all the 3D going on, the audience wouldn’t notice such tiny details.

Mary Todd Lincoln is one of my favorite characters from American history.  She was bossy, moody, often depressed and then shopped herself into oblivion. Of course she suffered greatly, losing a young son and then her husband.  I’d probably do nothing but shop also.  I just wish they would have given this Mary Todd an ounce of quirk or charm, instead of making her the simple ingenue.

I guess I have to applaud breathing new life into an old war, but I think it could have been done better, leaving the audience with a new take on human nature.

What did you think of the movie?

 

Leave a Reply

