Fallout Girl's Blog



The Official List of Fun Things

Radiation Level:  Gory and bloody

Listening to:  Killing Me Softly with His Song by Robert Flack

Today I taught a science class to some second graders where we learned about the physics/history of the boomerang.  After, my students all took turns throwing it.  The boys went crazy – anything they can throw and chase is always a winner.

After about a half an hour, we went to make propeller-type flyers out of foam.  One student, Jared, insisted he didn’t want to make one. When I asked why, he said, “It’s not fun.”

I thought this was very strange because all the other kids seemed to be enjoying themselves, so I handed him a piece of paper and a pencil and said to make a list of “fun things” that he thinks I should include in my classes from now on.   Here’s the list:

Do any of these things sound fun to you?

Eyeballs are most certainly fun – I prefer them to remain in my head, though. I suppose there’s a science lesson about trucks somewhere – please comment if you know one.  Shark fins and snake flesh sound more like a bad meal, however.

Well, at least the world finally knows what a seven-year-old boy thinks is fun.

Leave a Reply

